Last Online
    20-08-2012 @ 02:41 PM

Rubber Tree Tapping

We have 1,500 rubber trees that are now over 7 years old and are even larger than the average because we consistently fertilized and also irrigated during the first 3 years.

My problem is that I have decided to wait to start tapping the trees until the price if rubber goes on up...It seems like a waste of time to expend all that effort for such a small return...But, the family that is going to do the work for us and collect 40%(at least) of the money is trying to tell my wife that it is not good for the trees to let them go like this...I told my wife I never heard of such a thing, but I am not an expert in this and don't know the answer...

Anyone has knowledge of this, I would appreciate some input

Stoneman

Thailand Expat
    Last Online
    25-03-2014 @ 05:29 PM
    you can start tapping the trees now

it doesn't do any harm not to tap them!

I had a g/f whose family had rubber as their main income; they never said anything about damage being done to trees from not tapping, but you can overdo it

Thailand Expat
    Last Online
    24-12-2015 @ 06:41 PM
    My body is not a temple, It's the hell where I reside.
    The price of rubber follows the price of oil. Futures predictions says rubber is stable until Christmas unless Iran and Isreal go to war. The rubber season will soon be apon us, well when it stops raining. The land owners round here rent the land to the peasants at a fixed price, it makes them work harder and also protect the trees better. A rubber tree is worth 1000 baht in wood value.
    How much land are you 1500 trees on? And of course they wanna cut, until they do they no have money. Also where is the the land and what type of rubber do you have? 600 or 6610?

Last Online
    Quote Originally Posted by the dogcatcher View Post