Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 28
  1. #1
    Thailand Expat
    snakeeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    pattaya
    Posts
    7,773

    The Sportsman Review By Danny Boy .

    The Sportsman Review By Danny Boy




    Episode 1 for my weekly dining review guys, and we start with an old favourite, The sportsman, down Soi 13, off 2nd Road.

    The place has been established in Pattaya for a number of years now, longer than I’ve been here in fact. I have eaten there many times in the past, but not for a long time, so I decided to see how things had changed.

    I got there about 9:30pm on Friday night, and was surprised to see not so many customers. Much quieter than what I remember, although this can be said about most places in Pattaya at the moment.

    Staff still as friendly as ever, very good English skills, and very efficient, although you would expect this on a quiet night anyway.

    Menu choices we good. They have quite a large selection of both western and Thai dishes, smaller snacks, and of course, desserts. Simple dishes, home favorites, but nothing too fancy.

    My better half had a prawn cocktail, and I opted for a salmon steak, with potatoes and a bit of vegetables. Both meals came well presented, looked pleasing to the eye, and were a healthy size.

    Taste wise, I couldn’t complain. I have had nicer meals in other, more upmarket restaurants, but that’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy my meal, because I did. Im easily pleased, however, unlike my girlfriend who is terribly fussy when it comes to food, especially western food. Thankfully, she was happy with her choice too.

    We finished off sharing a couple scoops of coconut ice-cream. The whole meal came to 1,025 baht. This included 5 glasses of house red wine, and 1 bottle of water.

    For 2 people I thought this was pretty good value. Yes you can get cheaper meals elsewhere, but Im not sure you would be getting the same quality. You can also pay a lot more, and not get the same quality too, so all in all, definitely worth a visit. Don’t expect anything too fancy though, fine dining is definitely something The Sportsman is not, but it’s not trying to be either.

    Thanks for all the suggestions, and keep them coming in for this week.



    The Sportsman Review - PattayaOne


  2. #2
    POTUS HOCUS
    david44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Last Online
    12-10-2019 @ 11:14 AM
    Location
    Inner Wrongholia
    Posts
    13,668
    Thanks for the review were you sick on the Salmon look inedible

  3. #3
    Thailand Expat
    crackerjack101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Last Online
    Today @ 12:23 AM
    Posts
    5,380
    What an inane report.

  4. #4
    Thailand Expat
    snakeeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    pattaya
    Posts
    7,773
    ^
    This is Danny Boys first review give him a break ,

  5. #5
    Thailand Expat
    crackerjack101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Last Online
    Today @ 12:23 AM
    Posts
    5,380
    Quote Originally Posted by snakeeyes
    This is Danny Boys first review give him a break
    Proof reading might be profitable.

  6. #6
    Custom user Neverna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Behind a rhododendron bush
    Posts
    18,023
    And a spell checker. Have a read of his views on the week’s news.




    Of course, if Danny Boy is our very own snakeeyes, good work, snakey. Green owed.




    .
    Last edited by Neverna; 31-10-2016 at 09:08 PM.

  7. #7
    Thailand Expat
    snakeeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    pattaya
    Posts
    7,773
    ^
    Not me , I would be reviewing Go Go bars ,

  8. #8
    Thailand Expat klong toey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Last Online
    20-11-2019 @ 08:06 PM
    Posts
    6,074
    Is that butter on the fish fingers.

  9. #9
    POTUS HOCUS
    david44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Last Online
    12-10-2019 @ 11:14 AM
    Location
    Inner Wrongholia
    Posts
    13,668
    Quote Originally Posted by klong toey
    the fish fingers.
    thick bits of jenga or jigsaw offcuts, I hoped you were'nt charged and that it was complimentary filler.

    2 Loytoy Pies and a good bottle looks like a better investment

  10. #10
    Thailand Expat VocalNeal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Last Online
    Today @ 11:11 AM
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    11,347
    Next post how to eat for less that 1000 baht?

  11. #11
    Thailand Expat

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Last Online
    11-07-2019 @ 03:42 PM
    Posts
    1,999
    The five glasses of wine had to be darn close to half of that tab.

    Was a gratuity involved ?

  12. #12
    Custom Title Changer
    CSFFan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 10:15 PM
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    8,596
    I appreciate the review, I learned a lot about how not to write one...

  13. #13
    Custom Title Changer
    CSFFan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 10:15 PM
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    8,596
    Quote Originally Posted by david44
    2 Loytoy Pies and a good bottle looks like a better investment
    Speaking of which, has anyone heard out the naming contest...there's been an apparent lack of interest of late, even though the PNC (Pie Naming Contest) time is neigh...

  14. #14
    Thailand Expat
    crackerjack101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Last Online
    Today @ 12:23 AM
    Posts
    5,380
    Quote Originally Posted by CSFFan View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by david44
    2 Loytoy Pies and a good bottle looks like a better investment
    Speaking of which, has anyone heard out the naming contest...there's been an apparent lack of interest of late, even though the PNC (Pie Naming Contest) time is neigh...
    I assumed we were waiting for Mr and Mrs LTs shortlist.

  15. #15
    Custom Title Changer
    CSFFan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 10:15 PM
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    8,596
    Quote Originally Posted by crackerjack101
    I assumed we were waiting for Mr and Mrs LTs shortlist.
    As was I. It seems there's been a lull in the interest....

    I'm here to help!

  16. #16
    Thailand Expat
    crackerjack101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Last Online
    Today @ 12:23 AM
    Posts
    5,380
    Quote Originally Posted by CSFFan View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by crackerjack101
    I assumed we were waiting for Mr and Mrs LTs shortlist.
    As was I. It seems there's been a lull in the interest....

    I'm here to help!

    Up to them....................

  17. #17
    Member
    harrybarracuda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Online
    Today @ 02:12 AM
    Posts
    62,505
    Post this in the Pattaya thread you fucking dickhead.

  18. #18
    Thailand Expat
    snakeeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    pattaya
    Posts
    7,773
    ^
    Harry you old git does it matter what thread it's in they will still read it , now take a nap and chill out before you burst one of your varicose veins ,

  19. #19
    I'm in Jail

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Last Online
    Today @ 12:25 PM
    Posts
    19,330
    redded for small pics. I am sure I will get one in return knowing SE's..

  20. #20
    Thailand Expat
    snakeeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    pattaya
    Posts
    7,773
    Quote Originally Posted by bsnub View Post
    redded for small pics. I am sure I will get one in return knowing SE's..
    If you open the link you will see their small pics , do you wear glasses ? , BTW one red returned I don't want it ,

  21. #21
    I'm in Jail

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Last Online
    Today @ 12:25 PM
    Posts
    19,330
    ^ Hehe. You have plenty of cabbage you farmer.

  22. #22
    splendid and tremendous
    somtamslap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Last Online
    08-12-2019 @ 06:30 PM
    Location
    Down on the farm
    Posts
    13,628
    I reckon fanny boy writes a slightly more candid review of the place...

    Quote Originally Posted by snakeeyes
    Episode 1 for my weekly dining review guys - here's where I take a break from eating cheap snatch down on soi 6 and feast on a selection of equally putrid fare at one of the many 'restaurants' in Pattaya. Of course, when I say 'restaurant', I actually mean an ailing cafe-cum-canteen in which the chef possesses the flair and hygiene of a spasticated sewer rat, and the owner is invariably a sweaty caucasian type whose knowledge of the catering industry begins and ends with the voracious consumption of all the fucking pies - the fat kunt.

    Let's start with an old favourite, The sportsman, down Soi 13, off 2nd Road. The place has been established in Pattaya for a number of years now, longer than I’ve been here in fact - but I suppose that's relative because I rocked up at the arse end of 2015 and flung meself nuts deep into a vat of noodle soup broth and half the short time snatch on beach road and the rest is history.

    I have eaten there many times in the past, but not for a long time - I haven't eaten there for a long time because the food was uninspiring, poorly cooked and generally just a load of fucking shite - but I decided to see how things had changed. I got there about 9:30pm on Friday night, reasoning that the seven large bottles of beer fucking chang I'd imbibed prior to eating would somehow make me forget I was about to spend half the Ghanian gross domestic product on an underwhelming plate of 'western' food.

    I was surprised to see not so many customers (actually I wasn't - the chilly reception I received from the waitress was enough to have me screaming my way back to soi 6) . Much quieter than what I remember, although this can be said about most places in Pattaya at the moment - mainly, I'd imagine, because everyone's wised up to the fact it's a turgid pile of festering dog muck.

    Staff still as thick as ever, totally wrecking the English language and about as efficient as a pile of dead dung beetles. Menu choices were, as expected, totally unoriginal. They have quite a large selection of both western and Thai dishes, smaller snacks, and of course (of course!), desserts. Simple dishes, home favorites, but nothing too fancy (because the chef is unable to operate outside the realms of the microwave and a wok full of hot fat). My better half had a prawn cocktail (because this is the 1950s), and I opted for a salmon steak (because I'm an idiot), with potatoes and a bit of vegetables - yes, you read that right - a bit of vegetables. Both meals came well presented, looked pleasing to the eye (I knew those seven beer changs would come in handy), and were a healthy size. Taste wise, I couldn’t complain - I was also off my face on crack cocaine and lao khao and my taste buds had broke camp for the day. I have had nicer meals in other, more upmarket restaurants, but that’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy my meal, because I did. SO THERE!

    Im easily pleased - I also have a knack of stating the utter bleeding obvious - however, unlike my girlfriend who is terribly fussy when it comes to food, especially western food. Thankfully, she was happy with her choice too. We finished off sharing a couple scoops of coconut ice-cream. The whole meal came to 1,025 baht. We however chose not to pay this and in a moment of crack, lau khao and beer chang fuelled madness I stabbed the waitress in the face with a fork and kicked the owner in the bollocks before hot-footing it to soi 6 for a liquour - slurrrrrp.

  23. #23
    I'm in Jail

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Last Online
    Today @ 12:25 PM
    Posts
    19,330
    ^

  24. #24
    I am in Jail
    Mr Earl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    19-03-2019 @ 07:37 AM
    Location
    In the Jungle of Love
    Posts
    14,778
    Looks like this is the same Sportsman folks who ran the Sportsman bar on Washington square.
    Fair enough enough place it was, though I eventually got kicked out for being American.
    Those brits who fancy themselves American style chefs, don't take criticisms very well.

    I reckon I'll be giving soi 13 a pass! Though they probably don't remember me.
    Washington Square was a nice location, close to my favorite watering hole in Bangkok:; "Taffy's Hairy Pie Bar".
    Taffy's moved also but just wasn' t same...

  25. #25
    Being chased by sloths DJ Pat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Last Online
    06-10-2018 @ 05:27 PM
    Posts
    18,781
    Still doesn't persuade me to get on a bus and visit the place

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •