Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 52
  1. #26
    Thailand Expat
    Marmite the Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Last Online
    08-09-2014 @ 10:43 AM
    Location
    Simian Islands
    Posts
    34,827
    You can use you mobile phone for about 500B for 200 hours aparently.

  2. #27
    Aspiring Guru
    poolcleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Last Online
    27-07-2006 @ 09:21 PM
    Location
    pratunam
    Posts
    4,456
    I've not had ADSL because the appartment wasn't keen but my patience ran out and i told the missus to hit them up again about it.
    They relented and said OK as long as we get the farang's rent money for at least a year or two more.

    It meant I had to get my own line put in, the appartment don't want to know, which means relying on telling my missus what I need and her doing the negotiations with TOT. Not a great option but the only one I had.
    Initial call said 3500 Baht to install the line (FARK!!)
    We called into the TOT office, where no-one spoke English, and I walked out with a 3-7 day wait for the phone line and signed up for 1024/256 ADSL c/w modem all for the pricely sum of 1070 Baht.
    Pay 1177 Baht a month.

    I'm happy about that!

  3. #28
    Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Last Online
    08-02-2006 @ 12:26 AM
    Posts
    78
    sounds like a good deal to me.

  4. #29
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Last Online
    20-07-2020 @ 05:32 AM
    Posts
    104
    How's about cable telly?...

  5. #30
    punk douche bag
    ChiangMai noon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    o dan y bryn
    Posts
    29,256
    ^
    UBC is 1,590 a month.
    Went without it for years, read lots of books and stuff.
    Not sure I could live more than a couple of days without it now.

  6. #31
    Aspiring Guru
    poolcleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Last Online
    27-07-2006 @ 09:21 PM
    Location
    pratunam
    Posts
    4,456
    Quote Originally Posted by laoshi
    How's about cable telly?...
    You want to check out Buddy broadband...

    http://www.asiamedia.ucla.edu/articl...parentid=37064


    [ link]

  7. #32
    Cynical Member
    Fstop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Last Online
    29-06-2015 @ 11:56 AM
    Location
    Ratchada
    Posts
    1,456
    Alright, today I asked my apartment manager if I could install internet. He told me that internet was already installed in all of the rooms, and then pointed it out to me in my room. It's DSL (I think) from TRUE. The thing is, it looks just like a phone line. I've never had DSL (always had a cable modem) so have no clue what it looks like. He said that I just needed to buy a DSL line to plug into my computer. So is it DSL? It looks just like a phone line but I really don't know. He assured me that it was fast.

  8. #33
    Thailand Expat
    Marmite the Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Last Online
    08-09-2014 @ 10:43 AM
    Location
    Simian Islands
    Posts
    34,827
    I presume you need a LAN cable, but it could be a phone cable. Who knows....?

  9. #34
    A bladdy woman
    Goddess of Whatever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Last Online
    29-04-2009 @ 05:13 PM
    Location
    Somewhere I belong but it won't be last long
    Posts
    4,247
    Just buy a phone line then you will get interent at home!!! Damn.. I'm jealous.




    Edited : I mean a phone cable (in case you misunderstand)
    Last edited by Goddess of Whatever; 01-02-2006 at 10:37 AM.

  10. #35
    Cynical Member
    Fstop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Last Online
    29-06-2015 @ 11:56 AM
    Location
    Ratchada
    Posts
    1,456
    But how fast is it? I didn't think TRUE (or any company) offered dial-up. But the guy seemed to tell me that it wasn't dial-up, it was dsl. It's not a LAN cable.

  11. #36
    Thailand Expat

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    In a rather cold and dark place
    Posts
    12,823
    GoW are you planning on using your new phone to connect to the net?

    IF you are buy a prepaid sim card

    As far as I remember it was 1B a minute on a prepay AIS using GPRS

    But on contract it is charged per kb which works out pretty expensive.

  12. #37
    A bladdy woman
    Goddess of Whatever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Last Online
    29-04-2009 @ 05:13 PM
    Location
    Somewhere I belong but it won't be last long
    Posts
    4,247
    My phone is on contract and it will cost me 500 Baht for 200 hours which is cheap for me.

    Thank you.

    Most time I am at work then I will spend around 5 hours a day at home, total 150 hours a month which that package will cover my usage.
    Last edited by Goddess of Whatever; 01-02-2006 at 10:36 AM.

  13. #38
    punk douche bag
    ChiangMai noon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    o dan y bryn
    Posts
    29,256
    Quote Originally Posted by GOW
    Just buy a phone line then you will get interent at home!!! Damn.. I'm jealous.
    I know how you feel GOW.
    I had to wait 9 months for my line to be installed. A new village and everything, took ages to get the infrastructure in place.
    On the plus side, I read a lot of books and wrote poetry.

    I now spend half my waking hours here.
    Think of it as an opportunity to do something else, something more constructive.

  14. #39
    Thailand Expat
    aging one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Last Online
    @
    Posts
    18,984
    The jack you are looking at is for broadband DSL service and yes it can be fast, it depends on how much you pay, it varies the slowest BB is about 700 a month, up to about 1600 for the fastest.

  15. #40
    punk douche bag
    ChiangMai noon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    o dan y bryn
    Posts
    29,256
    Quote Originally Posted by AO
    The jack you are looking at is for broadband DSL service and yes it can be fast, it depends on how much you pay, it varies the slowest BB is about 700 a month, up to about 1600 for the fastest
    Sometimes you surprise me AO.
    You know quite a lot of this stuff yet stubbornly insist you can't post an avatar.

  16. #41
    Thailand Expat
    aging one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Last Online
    @
    Posts
    18,984
    I cant CMN, I am a stingy bastard with regards to money. I just had my computer upgraded, and am gonna get the avatar going soon. I had XP installed and am now loving the speed. My old OS was ME and it was just so bogged down I couldnt do a damn thing what with hanging and disconnecting and the such.
    I do know if you could learn it I should be able to!!

  17. #42
    Thailand Expat

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    In a rather cold and dark place
    Posts
    12,823
    I am thinking of getting the maxnet4life package this month - its 2900 to install but I have been warned that the 700 baht one won't let me use bittorrents and can be extremely slow at times.

  18. #43
    Thailand Expat

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    In a rather cold and dark place
    Posts
    12,823
    Remember that GPRS can be unbelievably slow in Thailand.

    The other option is Hutch or Orange using the CDMA route which is a lot faster.

    However Hutch are a bit of a rip off at 800B for 800mgb per month

  19. #44
    Cynical Member
    Fstop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Last Online
    29-06-2015 @ 11:56 AM
    Location
    Ratchada
    Posts
    1,456
    Anyone know if TRUE is good for torrents?? I'm dying over here not being able to watch Lost.

  20. #45
    Thailand Expat
    Marmite the Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Last Online
    08-09-2014 @ 10:43 AM
    Location
    Simian Islands
    Posts
    34,827
    Quote Originally Posted by durianfan
    Anyone know if TRUE is good for torrents?? I'm dying over here not being able to watch Lost.
    Well, it works. But as for being good....

  21. #46

    R.I.P.


    dirtydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Pattaya Jomtien
    Posts
    58,767
    True seems to be the worst provider there is, maxnet is good but they dont allow skype and torrents in their contract, who cares, I got maxnet and its downloading torrents 24/7 and skype i use everyday

  22. #47
    Thailand Expat

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    In a rather cold and dark place
    Posts
    12,823
    Ah that is better DD

    What speeds does it get?

  23. #48
    Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Last Online
    08-02-2006 @ 12:26 AM
    Posts
    78
    That's my one main concern about moving to Thailand.

    Since I won't be living in Bangkok or Pattaya & want somewhere more relaxed & laidback (British talk for cheaper) it probably wont have the technological infrastructure for this kind of stuff.

    And with my work I need a fast net connection (very min. 1mb up/down)

    Do much areas outside of Thailands hotspots have these facilities?

  24. #49
    Cynical Member
    Fstop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Last Online
    29-06-2015 @ 11:56 AM
    Location
    Ratchada
    Posts
    1,456
    Doubt it. I was in Trang a few months ago and oh my god.....slowest internet EVER. Likewise for Songkhla. Only 20 baht for an hour, but Jesus....so slow!

  25. #50

    R.I.P.


    dirtydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Pattaya Jomtien
    Posts
    58,767
    mine is a 512 connection, can run it at about 80 percent to the limit. 790baht per month

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •