Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 32
  1. #1
    Thailand Expat Jesus Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Last Online
    22-09-2017 @ 11:00 AM
    Posts
    6,952

    Computer question (Reinstalling WIndows)

    I have an original copy of window XP which is about 6-7 years old, so my first question is, can i use this?

    Assuming there is nothing I wish to save on my laptop, is it just a case of inserting the disk and going through the steps. Do i need do do anything beforehand?

    Thanks
    You bullied, you laughed, you lied, you lost!

  2. #2
    Thailand Expat
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Last Online
    @
    Posts
    60,017
    Jaysus, it should be in a musuem.

    but assuming you still have the keys, cant see why it wouldnt work

  3. #3
    Pronce. PH said so AGAIN!
    slackula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Behind a slipping mask of sanity in Phuket.
    Posts
    9,093
    Is it the disk that originally came with the laptop?

    If it is then yeah, but it'll probably get raped by the intrawebs as soon as you connect it so it might be an idea to download some anti-malware stuff/service packs etc to a USB drive or something and install those before going online.

    If it's a newer laptop and an older version of XP you might find that XP won't detect the hard-drive.
    bibo ergo sum
    If you hear the thunder be happy - the lightening missed.
    This time.

  4. #4
    I am in Jail
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Last Online
    01-02-2019 @ 03:12 PM
    Posts
    39,832
    if the drive is SATA, you have to re-compile your own installation, quite easy actually, some nice software do it for you

    the only issue is the activation, you will need to call some MS numbers. The bad news is that the numbers to call that will appear on the screen have all expired or are no longer in service, maybe the US one will work. This means that you will have to call the US for 30min and wait for some Indian goons to ask you a few stupid questions. Make sure to lie for everyone of them

  5. #5
    Pronce. PH said so AGAIN!
    slackula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Behind a slipping mask of sanity in Phuket.
    Posts
    9,093
    Quote Originally Posted by Butterfly
    if the drive is SATA, you have to re-compile your own installation, quite easy actually, some nice software do it for you
    This is the advice from an XP FanBoi? Recompile the installer? ROFL!

    the only issue is the activation, you will need to call some MS numbers. The bad news is that the numbers to call that will appear on the screen have all expired or are no longer in service, maybe the US one will work. This means that you will have to call the US for 30min and wait for some Indian goons to ask you a few stupid questions. Make sure to lie for everyone of them

  6. #6
    I am in Jail
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Last Online
    01-02-2019 @ 03:12 PM
    Posts
    39,832
    Quote Originally Posted by slackula
    This is the advice from an XP FanBoi? Recompile the installer? ROFL!
    try to install early MacOS X on a newer machine, you won't even have the option to recompile the Installer !!! nice compatibility, isn't it ?

  7. #7
    Thailand Expat Jesus Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Last Online
    22-09-2017 @ 11:00 AM
    Posts
    6,952
    Ok, cheers i'll give it a whirl.

    The disc came with another laptop which i had in the UK about 6 years ago.

  8. #8
    I am in Jail
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Last Online
    01-02-2019 @ 03:12 PM
    Posts
    39,832
    ^ when they are going to question you make sure to tell them you are trying to re-install the old laptop

    the OEM version of XP grants you a license only for use on that laptop, not the new one

  9. #9
    Pronce. PH said so AGAIN!
    slackula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Behind a slipping mask of sanity in Phuket.
    Posts
    9,093
    Quote Originally Posted by Jesus Jones
    The disc came with another laptop which i had in the UK about 6 years ago.
    Doubtful it will work. Most of the XP disks that are issued by the comp manufacturer are tailored to that specific model.

  10. #10
    Thailand Expat
    Marmite the Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Last Online
    08-09-2014 @ 10:43 AM
    Location
    Simian Islands
    Posts
    34,827
    Quote Originally Posted by Butterfly
    if the drive is SATA, you have to re-compile your own installation
    Nonsense.

  11. #11
    Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Last Online
    02-05-2011 @ 05:43 PM
    Posts
    573
    Quote Originally Posted by Marmite the Dog View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Butterfly
    if the drive is SATA, you have to re-compile your own installation
    Nonsense.

    Yes that was absolute nonsense, there is no different installing for EIDE or SATA or even on E-SATA! And that came from a "confessed XP specialist"?


  12. #12
    Pronce. PH said so AGAIN!
    slackula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Behind a slipping mask of sanity in Phuket.
    Posts
    9,093
    Quote Originally Posted by matsalleh
    Yes that was absolute nonsense, there is no different installing for EIDE or SATA or even on E-SATA! And that came from a "confessed XP specialist"?
    What if the install disk is pre SP1?

  13. #13
    Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Last Online
    02-05-2011 @ 05:43 PM
    Posts
    573
    Quote Originally Posted by slackula View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by matsalleh
    Yes that was absolute nonsense, there is no different installing for EIDE or SATA or even on E-SATA! And that came from a "confessed XP specialist"?
    What if the install disk is pre SP1?

    Sata or non Sata is only for the connector to the HD, Sata is faster than the old system, thus has nothing to do with the software.
    As to pre-SP1 he needs a fast line to download SP 2 and SP3 plus all the others, as that will amount to another 400 - 500 MB.
    However is no problem, did it for a friend of mine, inserted the disk - copied the MS code number and was given a new XP code, all on-line - no phone call needed...
    However, with a laptop he has to check the BIOS as they may or may not be for his Windows version.

  14. #14
    Pronce. PH said so AGAIN!
    slackula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Behind a slipping mask of sanity in Phuket.
    Posts
    9,093
    Quote Originally Posted by matsalleh
    Sata or non Sata is only for the connector to the HD, Sata is faster than the old system, thus has nothing to do with the software.
    Read the OP again, it is entirely possible that he is going to try to use an XP installation disk on a machine with a SATA drive.. An XP disk that was included with a 7 year old laptop will not be a good media to re-install XP on a newer machine from a possibly different manufacturer.

    Quote Originally Posted by matsalleh
    As to pre-SP1 he needs a fast line to download SP 2 and SP3 plus all the others, as that will amount to another 400 - 500 MB.
    If his laptop is unable to recognise the HD then where is he supposed to save the service packs?

    Quote Originally Posted by matsalleh
    copied the MS code number and was given a new XP code, all on-line - no phone call needed...
    OK, another script-kiddie MS wannabe. Your post in #11 of this thread was utterly worthless. Rest happy knowing that you just got owned by butterfly of all people.

  15. #15
    I am in Jail
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Last Online
    03-01-2010 @ 05:48 PM
    Location
    in wonderland
    Posts
    132
    Windows is so yesterday, get ubuntu Ubuntu Home Page | Ubuntu

  16. #16
    Pronce. PH said so AGAIN!
    slackula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Behind a slipping mask of sanity in Phuket.
    Posts
    9,093
    Quote Originally Posted by malice
    Windows is so yesterday, get ubuntu Ubuntu Home Page | Ubuntu
    If you want to proselytize for Ubuntu then start a new thread. This thread is about answering the questions the OP brought up and helping him to get his comp up and running again in my humble opinion.

  17. #17
    I am in Jail
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Last Online
    03-01-2010 @ 05:48 PM
    Location
    in wonderland
    Posts
    132
    Quick fix option until he fixes it.

  18. #18
    Pronce. PH said so AGAIN!
    slackula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Behind a slipping mask of sanity in Phuket.
    Posts
    9,093
    Quote Originally Posted by malice
    Quick fix option until he fixes it.
    So after your first smug and entirely useless contribution to the thread you are now suggesting Ubuntu as a way to fix an XP installation?

    Would you care to explain how to use Ubuntu to slipstream SATA drivers or service packs into an original XP installation disk from an OEM destined for a particular machine?

  19. #19
    Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Last Online
    02-05-2011 @ 05:43 PM
    Posts
    573
    Quote Originally Posted by slackula View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by matsalleh
    Sata or non Sata is only for the connector to the HD, Sata is faster than the old system, thus has nothing to do with the software.
    Read the OP again, it is entirely possible that he is going to try to use an XP installation disk on a machine with a SATA drive.. An XP disk that was included with a 7 year old laptop will not be a good media to re-install XP on a newer machine from a possibly different manufacturer.

    OK, another script-kiddie MS wannabe. Your post in #11 of this thread was utterly worthless. Rest happy knowing that you just got owned by butterfly of all people.
    Did that as said on a desktop where there was no problem between Sata and non Sata Disks, sorry mate!

  20. #20
    Pronce. PH said so AGAIN!
    slackula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Behind a slipping mask of sanity in Phuket.
    Posts
    9,093
    Quote Originally Posted by matsalleh
    Did that as said on a desktop where there was no problem between Sata and non Sata Disks, sorry mate!
    You took a 6-7 year old XP disc from an OEM laptop manufacturer and used it to install XP onto a desktop?

  21. #21
    Cenosillicaphobiac
    Plan B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 09:08 PM
    Location
    Under a bridge
    Posts
    4,196
    Yes, I've done the same.

  22. #22
    Pronce. PH said so AGAIN!
    slackula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Behind a slipping mask of sanity in Phuket.
    Posts
    9,093
    Quote Originally Posted by Plan B
    Yes, I've done the same.
    Please give details of the laptop XP disk and specs and the desktop specs that you did this on.

  23. #23
    Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Last Online
    02-05-2011 @ 05:43 PM
    Posts
    573
    Quote Originally Posted by slackula View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by matsalleh
    Did that as said on a desktop where there was no problem between Sata and non Sata Disks, sorry mate!
    You took a 6-7 year old XP disc from an OEM laptop manufacturer and used it to install XP onto a desktop?

    Yep, was the only original XP I had and was included with a Travelmate, that has since gone. And I think it was a nearly 8 years old XP supplied by Acer.

  24. #24
    Cenosillicaphobiac
    Plan B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 09:08 PM
    Location
    Under a bridge
    Posts
    4,196
    Quote Originally Posted by slackula View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Plan B
    Yes, I've done the same.
    Please give details of the laptop XP disk and specs and the desktop specs that you did this on.
    Was a couple of years back. Both XP disk and HD since been chucked. Sorry.

  25. #25
    Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Last Online
    02-05-2011 @ 05:43 PM
    Posts
    573
    Quote Originally Posted by Plan B View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by slackula View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Plan B
    Yes, I've done the same.
    Please give details of the laptop XP disk and specs and the desktop specs that you did this on.
    Was a couple of years back. Both XP disk and HD since been chucked. Sorry.
    Additionally, at that time the motherboards for desktops were hybrids, mine had 2 extensions each for EIDE and SATA, so first my C drive was an EIDE and later replaced by a SATA HDD, cloned with either Seagate or Acronis HD software, and: no problem to access the same Windows XP by SATA!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •