Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 34
  1. #1
    Cool Cat
    Perota's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Last Online
    15-03-2017 @ 05:11 PM
    Location
    Bangkok, Korat
    Posts
    3,019

    Software for Multimedia Computer

    What would be your favorite software for a multimedia computer ?
    Of course you would need a music and a video player (Winamp, AIMP3, VLC ...) A ripper (handbrake ?) and a burner. Something to organize your files (Kodi, MediaMonkey ..). Something to rename and retag (FileBot, MP3Tag ...). Maybe also other software with funny names like CouchPotato or SickBeard .... Of course utorrent or Vuze or Bit Torrent. And I'm sure I forgot the most importants.


    So what would be your essential software for a multimedia computer ?
    The things we regret most is the things we didn't do

  2. #2
    Thailand Expat
    palexxxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Chiang Mai
    Posts
    4,152
    A virus scanner.

  3. #3
    Cool Cat
    Perota's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Last Online
    15-03-2017 @ 05:11 PM
    Location
    Bangkok, Korat
    Posts
    3,019
    Quote Originally Posted by palexxxx View Post
    A virus scanner.
    You're right but not exactly multimedia.

  4. #4
    Thailand Expat
    Munted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Last Online
    29-07-2019 @ 04:35 PM
    Location
    Nmbr. 38
    Posts
    1,032
    Linux & VLC for a start. Add Transmission for your torrenting requirements.

  5. #5
    Cool Cat
    Perota's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Last Online
    15-03-2017 @ 05:11 PM
    Location
    Bangkok, Korat
    Posts
    3,019
    Quote Originally Posted by Munted View Post
    Linux & VLC for a start. Add Transmission for your torrenting requirements.
    Why Linux ? Don't get me wrong, I've nothing against Linux but so far Windows 7 is working fine and most users are more comfortable with Windows than Linux. So why do we need to use Linux beside the fact that it is free ?

  6. #6
    disturbance in the Turnip baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    Today @ 05:24 PM
    Location
    Heidleberg
    Posts
    21,541
    I would have your storage unit running linux - I am thinking openmediavault , though I have not tried it , but have used freenas

    lots of plugins for whatever services you want - and run headless

  7. #7
    Cool Cat
    Perota's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Last Online
    15-03-2017 @ 05:11 PM
    Location
    Bangkok, Korat
    Posts
    3,019
    Quote Originally Posted by baldrick View Post
    I would have your storage unit running linux - I am thinking openmediavault , though I have not tried it , but have used freenas

    lots of plugins for whatever services you want - and run headless
    Currently using a WD NAS MyCloud EX4 with 4 x 4TB. It's plugged to a 16 ports unmanaged gigabit switch and from there to every rooms through a 48 ports patch panel. The network is far from finished due to a house renovation that went out of control and totally over budget. I'm now slowly working on it with the first step being the home entertainment system.



  8. #8
    disturbance in the Turnip baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    Today @ 05:24 PM
    Location
    Heidleberg
    Posts
    21,541
    I don't know what services the WD offers but I would say the minimum you need is a Bittorrent client with remote access via HTTP(s)? and a DLNA server

    do you have a computer/box you are going to dedicate as an entertainment machine ?

    what sort of screens(what smarts) or tablets etc do you want video to ?

  9. #9
    Cool Cat
    Perota's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Last Online
    15-03-2017 @ 05:11 PM
    Location
    Bangkok, Korat
    Posts
    3,019
    For the time being my set up is pretty basic. I use the NAS just as a big storage disk that is accessible by all computers in the house. TV are basically used as big monitors, each are plugged to a computer that are for the time being running either VLC or Kodi.

    There are 7 computers in the network (1 Mac , 1 Zotac, 5 Lenovo), Lenovo I got when we closed our Shenzhen office, hand carry them one by one (UC +15" monitor + KB & mouse) first from Shenzhen to Hong Kong then to Bangkok. On the down side they are office computers with basic configuration, Celeron E3400 @2.6 GHz, maximum RAM 4GB.

    There are obviously a lot of things to do. Now that the renovation is almost completed, that's how I intend to keep busy during the next couple of month. All suggestion are most welcomed.
    Last edited by Perota; 11-07-2015 at 04:14 PM.

  10. #10
    Thailand Expat
    Sumbitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Online
    06-05-2018 @ 01:39 PM
    Location
    Chiang Mai
    Posts
    5,596
    A headphone amp.

  11. #11
    Thailand Expat
    Sumbitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Online
    06-05-2018 @ 01:39 PM
    Location
    Chiang Mai
    Posts
    5,596
    Marshall headphones (that's right..."Marshall" as in the rock and roll amp maker)

  12. #12
    Thailand Expat
    Sumbitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Online
    06-05-2018 @ 01:39 PM
    Location
    Chiang Mai
    Posts
    5,596
    Listen, I know I wasn't talking software (I was a software developer for 25 years, I ought to know what I wasn't talking about) but, if you listen to anything on your multimedia computer, how are you going to hear it without the above?

  13. #13
    Thailand Expat
    Sumbitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Online
    06-05-2018 @ 01:39 PM
    Location
    Chiang Mai
    Posts
    5,596
    Oh, fuck me, is the Dawg interested in computer shit?

  14. #14
    Member
    harrybarracuda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Online
    Today @ 08:21 PM
    Posts
    59,821
    Quote Originally Posted by wjblaney View Post
    Listen, I know I wasn't talking software
    But the OP was.

  15. #15
    Thailand Expat
    rebbu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Last Online
    22-08-2019 @ 11:00 AM
    Location
    Beautiful fire breathing money machines every where I look
    Posts
    2,474
    Quote Originally Posted by wjblaney View Post
    Oh, fuck me, is the Dawg interested in computer shit?
    I think you're safe here.

  16. #16
    Thailand Expat
    Sumbitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Online
    06-05-2018 @ 01:39 PM
    Location
    Chiang Mai
    Posts
    5,596
    Quote Originally Posted by harrybarracuda
    But the OP was.
    so, off topic: how do you listen to your multimedia software?

  17. #17
    disturbance in the Turnip baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    Today @ 05:24 PM
    Location
    Heidleberg
    Posts
    21,541
    maybe install openmediavault from a usb drive on a celeron and park it next to your NAS and switch - extra LAN card maybe

    map the NAS drives from it

    add plugins for how you want to stream to devices

    not sure what video cards are in the lenovos , but you wil need HDMI from them to the televisions you want to drive

  18. #18
    Thailand Expat
    Sumbitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Online
    06-05-2018 @ 01:39 PM
    Location
    Chiang Mai
    Posts
    5,596
    ^ OMG, wait a minute, baldrick, for us dummies. You can't be referring to any of my posts, can you???

  19. #19
    Member
    harrybarracuda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Online
    Today @ 08:21 PM
    Posts
    59,821
    Quote Originally Posted by wjblaney View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by harrybarracuda
    But the OP was.
    so, off topic: how do you listen to your multimedia software?
    Open a fucking sound system thread. Who cares? That isn't what he's asking.

  20. #20
    Member
    harrybarracuda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Online
    Today @ 08:21 PM
    Posts
    59,821
    Quote Originally Posted by baldrick View Post
    maybe install openmediavault from a usb drive on a celeron and park it next to your NAS and switch - extra LAN card maybe

    map the NAS drives from it

    add plugins for how you want to stream to devices

    not sure what video cards are in the lenovos , but you wil need HDMI from them to the televisions you want to drive
    You'd be amazed how many TV's can play straight from the NAS as long as they're connected to the network.

    But then of course you run the risk of someone taking control of the camera and mic


  21. #21
    Thailand Expat
    Sumbitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Online
    06-05-2018 @ 01:39 PM
    Location
    Chiang Mai
    Posts
    5,596
    Quote Originally Posted by harrybarracuda
    Open a fucking sound system thread. Who cares? That isn't what he's asking.
    Alright, sorry. I'm definitely a computer dummy. A computer software for dummies thread would be better suited for me. But I couldn't handle yours and panama hat's remarks.

  22. #22
    Member
    harrybarracuda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Online
    Today @ 08:21 PM
    Posts
    59,821
    Quote Originally Posted by wjblaney View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by harrybarracuda
    Open a fucking sound system thread. Who cares? That isn't what he's asking.
    Alright, sorry. I'm definitely a computer dummy. A computer software for dummies thread would be better suited for me. But I couldn't handle yours and panama hat's remarks.
    This is the multimedia forum and there is nothing stopping you opening a thread on how to listen to music.

    But he asked: "What would be your favorite software for a multimedia computer" and out of the blue you start banging on about headphone amps.

    Really?

  23. #23
    Cool Cat
    Perota's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Last Online
    15-03-2017 @ 05:11 PM
    Location
    Bangkok, Korat
    Posts
    3,019
    Quote Originally Posted by baldrick View Post
    maybe install openmediavault from a usb drive on a celeron and park it next to your NAS and switch - extra LAN card maybe

    map the NAS drives from it

    add plugins for how you want to stream to devices

    not sure what video cards are in the lenovos , but you wil need HDMI from them to the televisions you want to drive
    More simple than that. The NAS has 2 ethernet plug, I just connect it directly to the switch. Then I can access (control) it from every computer that is also connected to the switch through the patch panel.

    The original Lenovo configuration doesn't include a HDMI port, I can either use use a VGA / HDMI converter or just change the video card.

    For the time being I use the TV as a big display. There is no difference of quality when I play a movie if it is stored in the computer hard disk or in the NAS on the other side on the house.

    As you can see this is still a pretty basic installation and there is still a lot to do. But it's ok, I've now plenty of time ;-)

  24. #24
    Cool Cat
    Perota's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Last Online
    15-03-2017 @ 05:11 PM
    Location
    Bangkok, Korat
    Posts
    3,019
    Quote Originally Posted by harrybarracuda View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by wjblaney View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by harrybarracuda
    Open a fucking sound system thread. Who cares? That isn't what he's asking.
    Alright, sorry. I'm definitely a computer dummy. A computer software for dummies thread would be better suited for me. But I couldn't handle yours and panama hat's remarks.
    This is the multimedia forum and there is nothing stopping you opening a thread on how to listen to music.

    But he asked: "What would be your favorite software for a multimedia computer" and out of the blue you start banging on about headphone amps.

    Really?
    Thanks. I don't mind getting off topic but talking now about speakers is putting the cart before the horse. Better start an other thread, especially since it may interest more music enthusiasts than computer buffs.

  25. #25
    disturbance in the Turnip baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    Today @ 05:24 PM
    Location
    Heidleberg
    Posts
    21,541
    I was thinking that the NAS will be on all the time - but what other computer will be ? which will be running your torrent client etc

    also have you planned your IP assigning fr your network - .1 for the gateway etc

    I used to use .1 gateway , 2-10 for any other managed switches routers , .20 for NAS , .30 and up for IP cams and DHCP 100-149 etc

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •