Results 1 to 23 of 23
  1. #1
    Thailand Expat

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Last Online
    23-10-2014 @ 05:31 PM
    Posts
    1,201

    UBC ? True Vision upgrade

    UBC upgraded their transmission equipment Sunday night through to Monday morning. mainly done to \switch the encryption so the pirates can't nick it but also to add some more HD channels. When the Missus went to watch her Thai soaps it just said no signal. Both boxes the same. A quick call to the call centre and back and better as before.
    For those who have the same problem this is all you need to do.
    Menu - Scroll down to set up. it will ask for your pin number
    Enter 2321
    Then scroll down till you see reset factory defaults.
    select and just keep pressing OK when it highlights an option. A quick reboot and everything back to normal.
    I don't watch much, the odd documentary or food program and the F1 of course but nice to have.
    They also got a big thumbs up from me the British GP during the practice when rain stopped play they overran the schedule and kept it till the end.
    Well done and a big thanks from the Big Fella.

    The other thing that has got me shaking my head is the amount of postings on forums complaining that they have lost their UBC.
    FFS they have had continuous banners runnning on every channel for days before in Thai and English telling you what is going to happen and still fucking idiots are asking why no TV !
    The mind boggles as to how these people ever reached maturity ?

  2. #2
    Gohills flip-flops wearer
    withnallstoke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Last Online
    10-10-2019 @ 08:23 AM
    Location
    The Felcher Memorial Home.
    Posts
    14,273
    I have no signal. WTF?

    Withnall, aged 9, Thailand.

  3. #3
    Pedantic bastard
    nidhogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Last Online
    @
    Posts
    14,864
    Last night I had no signal - and then a signal. Hmm. Now however all my chanel listings are completely fucked - the numbers do not agree with the chanel name, which are different from the programs listing.

    Another glorious fuck up from True.

  4. #4
    Thailand Expat
    Thai Pom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Last Online
    16-10-2019 @ 04:06 PM
    Location
    Back in BKK
    Posts
    1,856
    I am with the "big fella" on this. Worked as advertised, which I admit I was surprised at!!

  5. #5
    Thailand Expat
    armstrong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 11:33 AM
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    2,129
    some of my numbers have changed but that's about it. fox went from 57 to 36 or something.

  6. #6
    Thailand Expat
    aging one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 10:27 PM
    Posts
    17,252
    here is the whole line up.

  7. #7
    Member
    harrybarracuda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Online
    Today @ 02:41 AM
    Posts
    61,313
    I can't understand why they only have two HD sports channels when they're paying a fkin fortune for EPL broadcast rights. Perhaps they're thinking they might get outbid in a month or two when they come up for 2013-16?

  8. #8
    Thailand Expat
    aging one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 10:27 PM
    Posts
    17,252
    I see 4 harry, ASN, 2 True sport channels, and then ESPN.

  9. #9
    Member
    harrybarracuda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Online
    Today @ 02:41 AM
    Posts
    61,313
    They don't show Premiership on ASN or ESPN do they? (Not a rhetorical question, just that I've never seen it there).

  10. #10
    Thailand Expat
    aging one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 10:27 PM
    Posts
    17,252
    Nope but at least you get two channels for HD football, and then others for all the other leagues. Better than before. Bummer that Star sport is not HD. F1 would be great in HD.

  11. #11
    Member
    harrybarracuda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Online
    Today @ 02:41 AM
    Posts
    61,313
    Hmmmmm. They're obviously being cheap cnuts. It is broadcast in HD around the world, and I'm guessing Star broadcast it in HD as well.

  12. #12
    Thailand Expat
    aging one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 10:27 PM
    Posts
    17,252
    Quote Originally Posted by harrybarracuda
    Hmmmmm. They're obviously being cheap cnuts.

    Its their corporate slogan. Sure as hell is with your reference to being in HD around the world. But I must say I get a better picture in regular digital than I did. But right now there is not jack shit because of heavy rain.

  13. #13
    Member Mojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Last Online
    09-04-2013 @ 09:12 PM
    Location
    Rimthangrotfai
    Posts
    140
    Quote Originally Posted by aging one View Post
    Nope but at least you get two channels for HD football, and then others for all the other leagues. Better than before. Bummer that Star sport is not HD. F1 would be great in HD.
    F1 should be in ESPN HD

    I'm thinking of getting K+ from Vietnam which is close to True what comes to sports but way cheaper. HD+ package - Vietnam Satellite Digital Television

  14. #14
    Member Mojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Last Online
    09-04-2013 @ 09:12 PM
    Location
    Rimthangrotfai
    Posts
    140
    Moto GP should be in ESPN HD as well...

  15. #15
    Thailand Expat
    aging one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 10:27 PM
    Posts
    17,252
    Quote Originally Posted by Mojo
    F1 should be in ESPN HD
    Here it is normally on star sports. Espn here might have womens indoor stickball. It really does suck here.

  16. #16
    Thailand Expat klong toey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Last Online
    09-09-2019 @ 06:12 PM
    Posts
    6,073
    Must be nice being a single man in Thailand all those channels to choose from,our TV seem to be stuck on,yes top of the list Number 1 channel bloody 3.
    Oh well at least i find sanctuary down the pub.

  17. #17
    Member Mojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Last Online
    09-04-2013 @ 09:12 PM
    Location
    Rimthangrotfai
    Posts
    140
    Quote Originally Posted by aging one View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Mojo
    F1 should be in ESPN HD
    Here it is normally on star sports. Espn here might have womens indoor stickball. It really does suck here.

    You have ESPN HD in your list of True channels.

    ESPN HD shows selected content from normal ESPN and Star Sports in high definition. So if True has same ESPN HD as elsewhere in the region, and i don't see any reason this not being the case, then you get your F1 and Moto GP in HD also here in Thailand.

    I don't have True but those who have could confirm that it is included in the new channel line up.

  18. #18
    Member
    KiCanCummins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Last Online
    18-09-2019 @ 04:28 PM
    Location
    Kanada
    Posts
    204

    Unhappy True NO Vision

    I had followed the banners and was expecting some thing exceptional
    Now I have reasonable reception in the morning and the in the afternoon all the Gold channels start to fade WTF????????
    Beets me what is happening, tonight we go for a walk in the village so i unplug the box for the 4th time, now the reception is better but still getting washout as if there are rain clouds but it clear at the moment!!!!

    We have the true NO vision monkey, er technician coming tomorrow, so we will see what they can F-up I will post back after they "FIX" it.

    KCC
    Moved back to LOS, living in Issan

  19. #19
    Member Mojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Last Online
    09-04-2013 @ 09:12 PM
    Location
    Rimthangrotfai
    Posts
    140
    F1 qualifying just finished. Was it on the ESPN HD ?

    Would like to know before paying any money for the channel.

  20. #20
    Thailand Expat
    aging one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 10:27 PM
    Posts
    17,252
    Mojo, I bow to you. Yes it was. They cut from golf to show the qualifying. I think if you want the pre race show you can watch it on star sports 59, then change to 136 for satellite subscribers for the race.

    Great qualifying because of the rain. But cant see much difference in HD or digital in the rain. But right as rain you were correct and I thank you.

    greened.

  21. #21
    Member Mojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Last Online
    09-04-2013 @ 09:12 PM
    Location
    Rimthangrotfai
    Posts
    140
    Thanks and good to know it's on. Will get the ESPN HD connected before the next race for sure.

    The old Star Sport SD feed in True satellite was crap. Could hardly read the timings etc from 46' tv...

  22. #22
    Member
    harrybarracuda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Online
    Today @ 02:41 AM
    Posts
    61,313
    The new star feed is crap if they keep cutting to fucking adverts all the time.

  23. #23
    Member
    KiCanCummins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Last Online
    18-09-2019 @ 04:28 PM
    Location
    Kanada
    Posts
    204
    Quote Originally Posted by KiCanCummins View Post
    I had followed the banners and was expecting some thing exceptional
    Now I have reasonable reception in the morning and the in the afternoon all the Gold channels start to fade WTF????????
    Beets me what is happening, tonight we go for a walk in the village so i unplug the box for the 4th time, now the reception is better but still getting washout as if there are rain clouds but it clear at the moment!!!!

    We have the true NO vision monkey, er technician coming tomorrow, so we will see what they can F-up I will post back after they "FIX" it.

    KCC
    Well they came and they took 5 min' to adjust the dish to get the proper signal, all is good. I guess the monkeys that originally installed the system did not get it spot on.

    KCC

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •