Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Tao
    Tao is offline
    Thailand Expat
    Tao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Last Online
    30-11-2014 @ 11:47 AM
    Location
    Sikhiu
    Posts
    1,004

    CDMA Korat, worth getting?

    Hey all, I'll freely admit that i'm quite thick when it comes to cellular services and crap like this. Bearing that in mind, can anyone tell me how CDMA works in Korat?

    I don't mean technical details, just important information like coverage [where can i recieve it], speeds, hardware required, is it any use etc.

    Cheers for any help!

  2. #2
    Tao
    Tao is offline
    Thailand Expat
    Tao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Last Online
    30-11-2014 @ 11:47 AM
    Location
    Sikhiu
    Posts
    1,004
    Errr. supposed to be in the North Eastern Forum... told you i was thick.

  3. #3
    Have you got any cheese Thetyim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Mousehole
    Posts
    20,902
    Normal CDMA is slow about 140kbps
    If CDMA EVDO is available then that is much better about 500kbps I think

  4. #4
    Member
    mellow's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Last Online
    29-11-2018 @ 10:44 AM
    Location
    over the hill
    Posts
    833
    I have had it for a year or so and I get about 130 Kbps. When I got it they said that it would go to 512 Kbps within 3 months but it hasn't happened. I talked to a man at the office about it and he said that the upgrade doesn't look like it's coming for a long while. I'm thinking about looking into TOT wireless with the solid satellite dish. My son can't even play online games or get any streaming videos right now, its getting tiresome having such a restrictive internet connection.

  5. #5
    Have you got any cheese Thetyim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Mousehole
    Posts
    20,902
    ^
    I don't think the upgrade to CDMA EVDO will happen now.
    The evdo modems that they have for sale are discontinued models and support for them ends next year.
    I guess they will jump to WIMAX now which is much faster and the range is that much further most of thailand will be covered with the existing masts.

  6. #6
    Member
    mellow's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Last Online
    29-11-2018 @ 10:44 AM
    Location
    over the hill
    Posts
    833
    Quote Originally Posted by Thetyim View Post
    ^
    I don't think the upgrade to CDMA EVDO will happen now.
    The evdo modems that they have for sale are discontinued models and support for them ends next year.
    I guess they will jump to WIMAX now which is much faster and the range is that much further most of thailand will be covered with the existing masts.
    When is this suppose to happen?

  7. #7
    Have you got any cheese Thetyim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Mousehole
    Posts
    20,902
    ^
    No idea. The licenses where available from October 2006

  8. #8
    Days Work Done! Norton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Roiet
    Posts
    29,525
    I have CAT Telecom CDMA. Given no phone lines which I reckon is your case, options are limited. Considered both CDMA and IpStar (satellite). Decided to try (experiment) the CDMA first as it is much cheaper and I really didn't want another satellite dish cluttering things up.

    CDMA is really not satisfactory. Seldom do I get even close to the 256kbps they claim. If i look at the connect speed it says 230.5kbps but it isn't close to that. Usually more in the 130kbps range. It also has a tendency (I don't know why) to completely stop or slow to a snails crawl when downloading large files. Can't use Skype or other programs of the like that require streaming or interactive voice/video. Don't play on line games but can see it would be useless there as well.

    When I purchased it, I used it at CAT Telecom office and it was quite fast but doesn't work very well at home in the sticks. Maybe something to do with signal strength or my setup so will see if there is something I can do to improve these. Maybe some suggestions from the panel?

    I'll give it a few more months and if no improvement will switch to IpStar even with it's higher cost and tendency to drop out during heavy rain.

  9. #9
    ding ding ding
    Spin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Last Online
    @
    Posts
    12,608
    Quote Originally Posted by Norton
    When I purchased it, I used it at CAT Telecom office and it was quite fast but doesn't work very well at home in the sticks
    I wanted to test the equipment at home but they insisted I test it only at the CAT office in the middle of town.

    Do they think we came over on a banana boat?

  10. #10
    Have you got any cheese Thetyim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Mousehole
    Posts
    20,902
    Norton, if your problem with CDMA is signal strength then a directional antenna might help

  11. #11
    Days Work Done! Norton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Roiet
    Posts
    29,525
    Quote Originally Posted by Spin
    Do they think we came over on a banana boat?
    "Dayo...dayo, daylight come n' me wanna go home."
    I fell for it.

  12. #12
    Days Work Done! Norton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Roiet
    Posts
    29,525
    Quote Originally Posted by Thetyim
    Norton, if your problem with CDMA is signal strength then a directional antenna might help
    Yes, I really believe increasing signal strength is the answer. The modem box has 5 lights on it indicating signal strength. Usually only two are lit and when there are three, speed is better.

    Right now I am using the wee antennae (omni) attached to the box. I am considering a larger omni antennae on the roof. I'm nearly the same distance from 2 microwave towers so thought omni would be best?

  13. #13
    Tao
    Tao is offline
    Thailand Expat
    Tao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Last Online
    30-11-2014 @ 11:47 AM
    Location
    Sikhiu
    Posts
    1,004
    Thanks for the info. I'll probably try out CDMA as it's cheaper - by your replies i have a feeling i won't be too satisfied with it.

    I've heard IPstar can be a hassle to get setup and perfomance is not without it's problems either.

  14. #14
    Member
    mellow's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Last Online
    29-11-2018 @ 10:44 AM
    Location
    over the hill
    Posts
    833
    I'm getting more unhappy about CAT's CDMA. I have had it for about a year and they haven't upgraded the speed as promised. I'm thinking of looking into TOT Dish Satellite set up that I've seen around. I heard they get about 1 GB/s for about 1500Baht a month. Will have to wait until after Xmas though.

  15. #15
    Thailand Expat

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Ratsima
    Posts
    3,717
    CAT's information about their CDMA service is not very clear. Most of their transmitters are ordinary CDMA. But, they do have some that have been upgraded to CDMA EV-DO. But, to take advantage of the upgrade you need an EVDO modem. CAT does sell EVDO modems but they are very expensive. Cheaper EVDO modems are available, but CAT claims that they cannot activate these cheaper modems for use on their network. This is a lie, but what can one do if they simply refuse?

  16. #16
    Have you got any cheese Thetyim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Mousehole
    Posts
    20,902
    Quote Originally Posted by buad hai
    but what can one do if they simply refuse?
    CAT run EVDO for the provinces and HUTCH run it for Bangkok.
    They did have a roaming agreement worked out which meant that if you were signed up with either then you could access any EVDO transmitter nationwide

  17. #17
    Tao
    Tao is offline
    Thailand Expat
    Tao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Last Online
    30-11-2014 @ 11:47 AM
    Location
    Sikhiu
    Posts
    1,004
    Hey I'm back online...

    I couldn't get any useful information about CDMA or would it even work in my area. Anyway, besides that i couldn't explain to the missus about CDMA so she dragged me into the TOT shop and signed up for IPSTAR.

    1Mb connection is ok so far. Can't complain although i can't get any torrents working yet. Managed to get both box passwords from the internet but when i try to change any settings it says there's no reply from the box. I'm trying over wireless so i'll plug directly in if i get a chance tomorrow.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •