Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 26
  1. #1
    Hiso member
    buriramboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Last Online
    @
    Posts
    8,431

    Do Thai banks in Nakon bumfuk have sort codes??

    Trying to transfer a bit of cash, got all details apart from sort code wifes sister (who is thick as fok) says bank doesn't have a sort code, so got the wife to phone the bank direct and they keep saying you don't need the sort code it's just the swift code you need. She replies yes thank you very much for the swift code which i already have but can you please just give me the sort code aswell. NO HAB is constant reply. Even got her to phone the head office and same sh1t, now i know my Thai bank accounts have a sort code, so basically transferring money to a bank in a nakon bumfuk do i need the sort code or not as i thought i did and am guessing my bank here in the UK will need it to do the transfer and also i was under the impression every bank in the world had a sort code so it could be located. Fully appreciate i could be totally wrong and that a bank in nakon bumfok could be the first bank i've come across anywhere in the world without a sort code.

  2. #2
    Member
    harrybarracuda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Online
    Today @ 01:37 AM
    Posts
    43,691
    The SWIFT code identifies the Bank, the Account number identifies the account.

  3. #3
    Have you got any cheese Thetyim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Mousehole
    Posts
    20,913
    Thai banks don't have a sort code
    The branch code is embedded in the account number

    So with swift code and account number they can identify the bank, branch and account

  4. #4
    Hiso member
    buriramboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Last Online
    @
    Posts
    8,431
    OK, thanks, looks like a owe a few apologies, lol.

  5. #5
    Thailand Expat
    sabang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Last Online
    Today @ 02:35 AM
    Location
    There
    Posts
    30,268
    Yep, Tetters is right. SWIFT Code, account number (BSB technically- bank & savings branch), and account name also. Not technically required, but a good idea to give the bank name & branch too. Some forms ask for the address, but I just ignore it, or give the town name again.

  6. #6
    Member
    harrybarracuda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Online
    Today @ 01:37 AM
    Posts
    43,691
    i know my Thai bank accounts have a sort code
    Now you'll have to learn and BICs and IBANs as well.

    Even UK banks don't have sort codes any more.

  7. #7
    Thailand Expat
    DrAndy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Last Online
    25-03-2014 @ 05:29 PM
    Location
    yes
    Posts
    32,048
    Quote Originally Posted by harrybarracuda
    Even UK banks don't have sort codes any more.
    well, they do

    both the UK and Irish banks still use them, for internal routing

  8. #8
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Last Online
    03-06-2014 @ 09:01 PM
    Posts
    27,552
    Quote Originally Posted by harrybarracuda View Post
    The SWIFT code identifies the Bank, the Account number identifies the account.
    Yes...and that's all that is required.
    All transactions will go through the main BKK branch first [of whatever respective Thai bank]....there is a singular swift code for that bank.

    What's a fcuking sort code?

  9. #9
    Member
    harrybarracuda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Online
    Today @ 01:37 AM
    Posts
    43,691
    It used to identify the bank and branch back in the days when everything was recorded in big fuck off ledger books.

  10. #10
    Member
    harrybarracuda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Online
    Today @ 01:37 AM
    Posts
    43,691
    Quote Originally Posted by DrAndy View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by harrybarracuda
    Even UK banks don't have sort codes any more.
    well, they do

    both the UK and Irish banks still use them, for internal routing
    Correct, for domestic transfers.

  11. #11
    Thailand Expat

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Darkside, Pattaya
    Posts
    5,478
    Whats a "sort code"...... never needed it nor ever heard of it ?

  12. #12
    Thailand Expat
    Albert Shagnastier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Last Online
    22-03-2015 @ 09:09 PM
    Location
    City of Angels
    Posts
    7,166
    ^ A British way of denoting the branch of the major bank.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Last Online
    07-01-2017 @ 09:16 AM
    Posts
    318
    Swift code and account number always works for me.

  14. #14
    En route
    Cujo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 11:38 PM
    Location
    Reality.
    Posts
    25,762
    Sort code
    From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    A sort code is the name given by both the British and Irish banking industry to the bank codes which are used to route money transfers between banks within their respective countries via their respective clearance organisations. In Ireland it is known as the NSC or National Sort Code[1] and is regulated by IPSO (Irish Payment Services Organisation).[2] Although sort codes in both countries have the same format, they are regulated by different authorities as each country has its own banking system
    And..
    International clearance

    The British and Irish sort codes are only used for domestic money transfers. If money is being transferred across international borders, an international network is used. Many European countries use the IBAN as a means of identifying bank account numbers, but transfers to, amongst others, the United States and Australia make use of the BIC Codes. Characters 9 to 14 of British and Irish IBANs hold the bank account sort code.[7]
    In some countries there is no direct equivalent of sort codes as the bank and branch codes are maintained separately from each other in those countries.[7] Other countries, however, have codes which are equivalent to sort codes, but with formats unique to the country concerned. Examples include:
    Germany/Austria: Bankleitzahl (BLZ)
    Switzerland: Bankenclearing-Nummer (BC-Nummer)
    Australia: Bank-State-Branch (BSB)
    Canada: Transit Code
    Sweden: Clearingnummer
    Ukraine: MFO
    India: IFSC (Indian Financial System Code)




  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Last Online
    19-06-2015 @ 07:24 PM
    Location
    Isaan
    Posts
    335
    Thai banks only require Swift Code and account number

    Sort code is actually called "Routing Number" which is not needed as I was told by Kasikornbank

  16. #16
    Banned

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Last Online
    14-08-2015 @ 05:39 PM
    Location
    Ex-Pat Refugee in Thailand
    Posts
    9,581
    Quote Originally Posted by liveinlos
    Sort code is actually called "Routing Number" which is not needed as I was told by Kasikornbank
    Did you read Koojos post?

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Last Online
    19-06-2015 @ 07:24 PM
    Location
    Isaan
    Posts
    335
    Quote Originally Posted by ltnt View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by liveinlos
    Sort code is actually called "Routing Number" which is not needed as I was told by Kasikornbank
    Did you read Koojos post?
    Do you know how to read??????

    Sort Code - route money transfers between banks within their respective countries

    The British and Irish sort codes are only used for domestic money transfers

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Last Online
    13-10-2013 @ 01:54 PM
    Posts
    52

    colinneil

    buriramboy you do not need bank sort code, i have transfered money many times from my bank in congelton to krun thai prakonchai never used sort code only swift code never been a problem

  19. #19
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Last Online
    17-11-2013 @ 08:57 AM
    Posts
    1
    Buriramboy
    The first 3 digits of your Thai bank account is the same as the UK sort code.

    I want to tfr my uk pension direct to my KBank account but DWP say they need checking code? Banks I asked at just give me the Swift Code which is not what I
    want.
    Is there anybody out there who gets their uk pension transferred direct who can help me please???
    Commo

  20. #20
    I am in Jail
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Last Online
    02-03-2015 @ 03:30 PM
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    1,951
    I have two pension's that are paid into my Kasikorn bank account from the UK
    and the only details I gave were my Kasikorn bank's Swift code and my account
    number , easy peasy japaneasy.

  21. #21
    Tax Consultant
    Thormaturge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    9,892
    Quote Originally Posted by Commogwinto View Post
    Buriramboy
    The first 3 digits of your Thai bank account is the same as the UK sort code.

    I want to tfr my uk pension direct to my KBank account but DWP say they need checking code? Banks I asked at just give me the Swift Code which is not what I
    want.
    Is there anybody out there who gets their uk pension transferred direct who can help me please???
    Commo
    There is no such thing as a checking code.

    SWIFT/BIC identifies the bank internationally.

    The account number will be in the format 123-456789-0. The 123 is the branch number (the equivalent to the UK sort code) and the rest is your personal account number.

    The USA uses routing numbers instead of sort codes

    Europe has the IBAN system

    DWP need the SWIFT code and your full account number...and NO they are not very clued up.
    I see fish. They are everywhere. They don't know they are fish.

  22. #22
    Thailand Expat
    boloa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Surin
    Posts
    3,841
    Here is a list of Banks Swift codes

    SWIFT Codes for all Banks in Thailand

  23. #23
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Last Online
    26-01-2015 @ 07:49 AM
    Posts
    15
    I have come across this problem also. Just use MoneyGram old chap- ,much simpler. Fill in the form, hand over the money and send the ref number by SMS to the recipient.

  24. #24
    Thailand Expat

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 11:46 PM
    Posts
    34,205
    Quote Originally Posted by buriramboy
    Nakon bumfuk
    Sounds like a lovely place...

  25. #25
    Thailand Expat
    Ratchaburi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 05:54 PM
    Location
    Ratchaburi
    Posts
    5,013
    Quote Originally Posted by BaitongBoy View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by buriramboy
    Nakon bumfuk
    Sounds like a lovely place...
    You will find Socal live there.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •