Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Newbie reispr01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Last Online
    28-09-2018 @ 10:21 AM
    Posts
    40

    Where to buy step-down electrical transformer in bangkok?

    Hi, all. Spent a ridculous amount of time online looking (without success) for a place in Bangkok that sells electric transformers. I need one that plugs into Thai wall sockets with 220 V, and steps it down to a 110 with a U.S. socket(s).

    And here's the important part - it need to handle at least 3,000-5,000 W. It'll be used with a fully-auto espresso machine.

    I've seen lots of transformers around. But it's not actually a "consumer" item for like, your mobile phone. I need a big, serious, electrical hardware store.

    Incidentally, i ordered one from Alibaba. $39 US. Bargain, right? BIG mistake. I figured I could eat the $70 shipping charge by TNT...but when TNT got it to Thailand, they tried ripping me off for over $300 in "import duty and fees." On a $39 piece of a equipment. I told them they could take the transformer and...well, I digress...

    Meanwhile...I'm still lookin' Any know the answer?

    Thanks in advance.

    AJR
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Thailand Expat Pragmatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Last but who gives a shit.
    Posts
    10,424
    No need to thank me.

    https://www.lazada.co.th/catalog/?q=...%20transformer


    This one does 5,000 Watts and costs 12,000 Baht but you may get cheaper.


  3. #3
    disturbance in the Turnip baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    Today @ 01:42 AM
    Location
    Heidleberg
    Posts
    20,045
    Quote Originally Posted by reispr01 View Post
    shipping charge by TNT
    As soon as you use tnt dhl etc you will get pummeled

    From aliexpress. Alibaba. Dhgate just use China post
    Last edited by baldrick; 03-04-2018 at 10:50 AM.

  4. #4
    Thailand Expat Pragmatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Last but who gives a shit.
    Posts
    10,424
    Quote Originally Posted by baldrick View Post
    From aliexpress. Alabama. Dhgate just use China post
    Absolutely correct. China Post will send a tracking number for you to keep a check on the items location. When it gets to Ting Tong Land you follow it's location using http://track.thailandpost.co.th/tracking/default.aspx. Brilliant service.
    Where as the likes of TNT, DHL etc act as agents for Thai customs and will charge you import duty automatically.

  5. #5
    Thailand Expat
    TuskegeeBen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,387
    You need a 3-5K watt transformer, to operate a 110v kitchen appliance? It would be more cost effective (less complicated) to simply purchase a Sino-Thai manufactured "Expresso" machine (in Thailand), instead.
    Last edited by TuskegeeBen; 03-04-2018 at 11:14 AM.

  6. #6
    Thailand Expat Pragmatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Last but who gives a shit.
    Posts
    10,424

  7. #7
    Thailand Expat Dillinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Online
    @
    Posts
    23,523
    I just found one that I got with an American wii years ago. The wii long since perished after being plugged in without it.

    Its only 70 watts though.

  8. #8
    Thailand Expat Dillinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Last Online
    @
    Posts
    23,523
    Those Amorn Electronics shops will likely have what you want

  9. #9
    Thailand Expat
    VocalNeal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Last Online
    12-12-2018 @ 07:19 PM
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    10,735
    Quote Originally Posted by reispr01 View Post
    Where to buy step-down electrical transformer in bangkok?
    Long shot butif you are anywhere near Phra Khanong BTS. Just around the corner on what is essentially Soi 46 is a motor/transformer rewind shop . They might be able to help you. Take your picture and write 3000 -5000W on it.

    Or Kriang Roong Roje Electric Ltd., They'll be abe to make you one? Off Rama 3 on Sathupradit.
    Better to think inside the pub, than outside the box?
    I apologize if any offence was caused. unless it was intended.
    You people, you think I know feck nothing; I tell you: I know feck all
    Those who cannot change their mind, cannot change anything.

  10. #10
    Thailand Expat
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Last Online
    @
    Posts
    14,585
    there's a place on "wireless" road, by the police "junction box" just over from "wheatstone bridge", behind the sports "ground" .

    i think its called ohmworks, their "charges" are reasonable, "currently" they are "distributors" for transformers, they sell them in "neutral" colours btw, and they "conduct" their business in a professional manner.


    (i'll get me coat)

  11. #11
    Custom user
    Neverna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Behind a rhododendron bush
    Posts
    15,196
    ^ You should be charged for that!

  12. #12
    Thailand Expat

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 09:37 PM
    Posts
    12,118
    Given the load in wattage and the type of hardware you have described, isn't the usual electrical source a separate supply rated at 20 amps, yes? I'm no electrician but it seems you are using a serious bit of coffee making kit at a commercial level and not something plugged into a two pin Thai hole ( ooh, err, Missus! ).

  13. #13
    Happy Birthday Jesus
    Hugh Cow's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 09:35 AM
    Location
    Qld/Bangkok
    Posts
    1,630
    You will need a transformer with about 4.5 KVA output and a special circuit to run it. It is too big for a standard power circuit and will need about a 32 amp circuit.

  14. #14
    Custom user
    Neverna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Behind a rhododendron bush
    Posts
    15,196
    Quote Originally Posted by reispr01 View Post
    And here's the important part - it need to handle at least 3,000-5,000 W. It'll be used with a fully-auto espresso machine.
    That must be one awesome coffee machine. I'd love to see a picture of it. What model is it?

  15. #15
    ความรู้ลึกลับ HuangLao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    ตะพานหิน
    Posts
    5,134
    Quote Originally Posted by Neverna View Post
    That must be one awesome coffee machine. I'd love to see a picture of it. What model is it?
    Sounds as if it might be a commercial model type, less the variety that one might use at home.
    Wondering if the OP had brought it with him or shipped it over....[??]

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •