Results 1 to 23 of 23
  1. #1
    たのむよ。
    The Gentleman Scamp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Last Online
    03-01-2017 @ 04:09 PM
    Location
    もうがまんできない!
    Posts
    9,754

    Unhappy How come TRUE internet is so shit?

    For six months it was great, and I was very happy with it, and so I should be at 900 a month whatever it is.

    Anyway, for the past three months it has been touch and go - sometimes there's no PPOE server to be found and it can take up to ten minutes for the modem to light up.

    I rang True and they tried to blame it on my laptops LAN thingy but the man in the Apple shop said that was bollocks and they were making excuses. I tried to ring again today but some prostitute answered who spake nay English.

    Could the problem be down to my modem? ...I have hit it quite a few times and I rarely turn it off. I once nearly started a thread called 'Do you turn your modem off' but I didn't, but perhaps I should turn mine off more.
    "I'm an outsider by choice, but not truly. It's the unpleasantness of the system that keeps me out. I'd rather be in, in a good system. That's where my discontent comes from: being forced to choose to stay outside.
    My advice: Just keep movin' straight ahead. Every now and then you find yourself in a different place."

    George Carlin

  2. #2
    Member
    plorf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Last Online
    02-07-2014 @ 01:16 PM
    Location
    Beijing, China
    Posts
    997
    No, it's not your modem, thai forums are full of pissed off True users ;-)
    True is truly bad / The rumour that true is quite bad is true. Sorry ran out of bad jokes alraedy :/

  3. #3
    たのむよ。
    The Gentleman Scamp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Last Online
    03-01-2017 @ 04:09 PM
    Location
    もうがまんできない!
    Posts
    9,754
    Oh, I don't suppose complaining would do any good.

    Like your username by the way... 'Plorf', what's that all about then?

  4. #4
    I am in Jail

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Last Online
    26-06-2015 @ 01:33 AM
    Location
    โรงแรมม่านรูด
    Posts
    4,290
    I tried to ring again today but some prostitute answered who spake nay English
    .

    what was her number?

  5. #5
    Member
    Sakeopete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Last Online
    18-09-2016 @ 08:36 PM
    Location
    Canadian living in Hua Hin
    Posts
    364
    TBH I am very happy with my True internet in bangkok its not super fast but has been solid. I wish my Maxnet was half as good as true, I'm lucky if it stays on for more than 15 mins before shitting its pants.

  6. #6
    Member
    plorf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Last Online
    02-07-2014 @ 01:16 PM
    Location
    Beijing, China
    Posts
    997
    Like I said, there really are numerous problems with True Internet, they don't seem to have the bandwith they're selling since the company is expanding rather rapidly. My gf works for True, and she claims it's because True did as of yet not get a number of services/bandwith it's supposed to get, legal case pending in court. Same applies to mobile connection, wouldn't recommend it in a lot of places outside the cities.
    [at]Gtlman Scamp: Have you ever registred at a site only to get access to some of the services limited to registered users ? Well, that's what I originally registered at this site for, just typed in some nonsense and ended up actually posting here ;-) Might actually get down to post some travel reports as well in the future, good when you're bored at office.

    edit: I DO wish Thailand would finally upgrade their cable infrastructure a bit, even for 1000+Bht you won't get a proper connection. European pages are so awfully slow to load and the same when you're back home and try to load a thai site.
    In Switzerland I download at 1-2mb/sec (20mbit Conn, free modem, installation etc) and in Thailand I'm often stuck with ADSL that dl's at 20-50 kbs, no matter how fast they claim they are..
    Last edited by plorf; 03-10-2008 at 05:29 PM.

  7. #7
    RIP
    klongmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Nonthaburi
    Posts
    4,382
    Scampy: might well be your modem...I'm not far from you and only pay 500 a month but I ALWAYS get a connection...had the TRUE boys out twice...once they replaced the cable from outside to my com i.e. the inside part - cost me 300 baht...second time they found a crick in the wire outside and replaced that at no charge...

    they did tell me though that most connex probs are caused by aging routers so you might like to think about that...

    oh and Scampy...calling the girl a whore probably doesn't help your case!!!

  8. #8
    Days Work Done! Norton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Roiet
    Posts
    29,171
    Quote Originally Posted by The Gentleman Scamp
    How come TRUE internet is so shit?
    Just emulating the quality of True UBC.

  9. #9
    たのむよ。
    The Gentleman Scamp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Last Online
    03-01-2017 @ 04:09 PM
    Location
    もうがまんできない!
    Posts
    9,754
    True told me to give my LAN cable a wiggle, and it worked - but it doesn't change the fact that my signals are up and down like a yoyo on a regular basis.

  10. #10
    Days Work Done! Norton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Roiet
    Posts
    29,171
    Quote Originally Posted by The Gentleman Scamp
    True told me to give my LAN cable a wiggle, and it worked - but it doesn't change the fact that my signals are up and down like a yoyo on a regular basis.
    From this, I really do believe the bulk of your problems are related to your equipment not True's. Up and down speeds on the internet are to be expected in Thailand. Often times if you disconnect and reconnect you will find a server with less usage that will be faster.
    Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.

  11. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Last Online
    05-06-2009 @ 10:41 AM
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by Norton View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by The Gentleman Scamp
    True told me to give my LAN cable a wiggle, and it worked - but it doesn't change the fact that my signals are up and down like a yoyo on a regular basis.
    From this, I really do believe the bulk of your problems are related to your equipment not True's. Up and down speeds on the internet are to be expected in Thailand. Often times if you disconnect and reconnect you will find a server with less usage that will be faster.
    Suspiciously starting to sound more like a bit of a PEBKAC error to me.

  12. #12
    Thailand Expat
    Marmite the Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Last Online
    08-09-2014 @ 10:43 AM
    Location
    Simian Islands
    Posts
    34,827
    If it helps any, my True connection at work is pretty good, but my CSLoxinfo one at home gives me Network Errors 50% of the time.

  13. #13
    I am in Jail
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Last Online
    01-02-2019 @ 03:12 PM
    Posts
    39,832
    Quote Originally Posted by Marmite the Dog
    CSLoxinfo one at home gives me Network Errors 50% of the time.
    Network Error 50% ??? what does this mean webboy ? could you be more specific ? or talking out of your ass as usual

  14. #14
    Thailand Expat
    Marmite the Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Last Online
    08-09-2014 @ 10:43 AM
    Location
    Simian Islands
    Posts
    34,827
    Actually, it's 'Network Timeout'.

    I presume they're just shite.

  15. #15
    The Pikey Hunter
    Gerbil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Roasting a Hedgehog
    Posts
    12,356
    One thing I've noticed that can be a problem is your router if you're doing a lot of torrenting. Cheaper routers have a problem dealing with large numbers of connections and can get 'clogged up'. The only way to fix this is to either limit the number of connections your torrent client makes simultaneously or reset your router periodically.
    You, sir, are a God among men....
    Short Men, who aren't terribly bright....
    More like dwarves with learning disabilities....
    You are a God among Dwarves With Learning Disabilities.

  16. #16
    Thailand Expat
    Marmite the Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Last Online
    08-09-2014 @ 10:43 AM
    Location
    Simian Islands
    Posts
    34,827
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerbil
    One thing I've noticed that can be a problem is your router if you're doing a lot of torrenting. Cheaper routers have a problem dealing with large numbers of connections and can get 'clogged up'. The only way to fix this is to either limit the number of connections your torrent client makes simultaneously or reset your router periodically.
    So, if I shut down uTorrent the problem should disappear, right?

  17. #17
    The Pikey Hunter
    Gerbil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Roasting a Hedgehog
    Posts
    12,356
    ^ 'Eventually'

    Problem is that your router has a table with all the connections it has made in it (to save it looking them up again), that usually has a 'time to live' of around 12-24 hours. The router table has limited space, so that can get filled up pretty quickly.

    Eventually those entries in the table will time out and more space will be available, but it depends on the router, size of the table, etc. So if you turn off your torrent client, then the router will gradually (but probably very slowly) 'speed up'. Quickest way is to reset it.

    Some routers suffer from the problem more than others (D-Links are particularly notorious for it).

    I try not to have more than half a dozen torrents running at any one time with a global maximum number of connections set in it of around 150 - I still have to reboot the router about once a day.

    Also, it can be just a shit line, if the router has problems connecting and then eventually gets connected at a low speed, it will quite happily sit and remain connected at that low speed forever until you reboot it. (But most DSLAMs are configured to force a reconnection every 24 hours anyway)

  18. #18
    Thailand Expat
    Marmite the Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Last Online
    08-09-2014 @ 10:43 AM
    Location
    Simian Islands
    Posts
    34,827
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerbil
    (D-Links are particularly notorious for it)
    Just bought one of them for the office.

    This one at home has been doing it since about 5 mins after the tech got in his car after he installed it. Prolly a shitty phone line.

  19. #19
    The Pikey Hunter
    Gerbil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Roasting a Hedgehog
    Posts
    12,356
    ^ probably the line then. Takes a few hours for it's table to fill up so probably not the router.

  20. #20
    lom
    lom is offline
    Thailand Expat lom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Trapped in an old mans body
    Posts
    8,177
    Quote Originally Posted by Marmite the Dog
    Some routers suffer from the problem more than others (D-Links are particularly notorious for it).
    I don't consider D-Link any worser than the others.
    It's mainly about how much memory they've got inside and to some extent what cpu and software version they are using.
    You will usually find them using a linux kernel for embedded applications, some of
    them having a more recent version.

    Standard routers are not constructed with a lot of connections in mind so they
    perform bad when used with torrents and online gaming.
    D-Link has a gaming router series which can handle more than thousand connections and it works very good with torrents.

    Another alternative is to load your router with one of the many public domain router firmwares.
    I am using dd-wrt , others are tomato and open-wrt.
    dd-wrt can handle 4096 connections
    The voices in my head are mostly kind, I also like the music.

  21. #21
    Thailand Expat
    Marmite the Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Last Online
    08-09-2014 @ 10:43 AM
    Location
    Simian Islands
    Posts
    34,827
    ^ My boss would be well happy if I fucked up the router by trying to be flash with the firmware.

  22. #22
    lom
    lom is offline
    Thailand Expat lom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Trapped in an old mans body
    Posts
    8,177
    I suppose you are not running torrents in the office so no need to change firmware in the office router.

  23. #23
    Thailand Expat
    Marmite the Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Last Online
    08-09-2014 @ 10:43 AM
    Location
    Simian Islands
    Posts
    34,827
    Quote Originally Posted by lom
    I suppose you are not running torrents in the office so no need to change firmware in the office router.
    *cough* Of course not!

    Actually, I've not had a Network Timeout all evening. WTF is going on?!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •