Thailand Expat
    Last Online
    @

What would you do?

This is the deal. Yes, I am a teacher. No, not the backpacker type but a 'highly qualified' teacher according to America. Google if you want.

I moved back to the states in order to have my daughter experience the American culture.

Something that happened this past week.

One of my students came to school with this sign drapped around her neck last week. This young girl is a tomboy. Yes, she participated on the wrestling team last year, has short hair and is not like the average young lady. Regardless, she is still a delight to have in the classroom.

Her mom thought that perhaps this young lass might have been teased about her developing body.

Now what would you do?

Last Online
    02-11-2016 @ 08:50 AM
    Well, her calligraphy could use some work for a start.
    Seriously though, is she being bullied? I'd think so. Someone trusted needs to talk to her as soon as possible.

This is not my avatar
    Last Online
    @
    ^correct her on her use of apostrophes and punctuation in general.

Developing Member

Last Online
    12-08-2014 @ 12:20 PM
    Not a subject I would relish getting involved in.

Thailand Expat
    Last Online
    @
    Quote Originally Posted by jandajoy View Post
    is she being bullied?
    No. The joys of teaching...

This came from the parents.

Last Online
    Quote Originally Posted by hillbilly
    No. The joys of teaching... This came from the parents.
    Sorry you've lost me. Her parents made her wear the sign?

Thailand Expat
    Last Online
    @
    Yes! As soon as I saw the sign I removed it from the young lady.

Let's start again.

What kind of parent would do this?

(As a side note, I talked to the mom via the phone for about 30 minutes, she is a nut. They were going to put in bold letters on the kid's forehead 'I am a female')

Crazy!

Last Online
    I'm not familiar with the system in the US but in the UK or Aus. I'd do the following;